top of page

Grades Curriculum

First Grade

Children come to first grade full of curiosity. Their teachers foster the skills necessary to learn, work, and play in an atmosphere of warmth and reverence.

Second Grade

The curriculum and experiences in second grade builds on the foundation of first grade. Students transition from the experience of one to duality and comparison.

Third Grade

The third grade curriculum speaks to the consciousness of the child who is turning nine. As this age, the child becomes more self-aware, and there can be a new sense of distance from the joys of early childhood.

Fourth Grade

Fourth grade marks a clear change in the work the students do and what is expected of them. The habits and skills that have been developed are now put to use in tackling new and varied subjects.

Fifth Grade

In fifth grade, children begin to observe and become curious about what is coming in their teen years. Some are beginning to experience these changes in themselves. It is a time for reflection, solidifying foundations, and exploration.

Sixth Grade

Sixth grade students are often interested in establishing structure and order, and in finding lawful relationships. Lessons are aligned with these interests as well as the development of academic organization, multitasking, and artistic expressions of academic learning.

Seventh Grade

In seventh grade, children are transitioning from a feeling-based curriculum to thinking-based learning and higher academics. Through this transition, they become full and active participants and discover their creative voices.

Eighth Grade

In eighth grade, students begin analyzing historical and cultural movements, deepening their capacity for judgment, and formalized testing.

bottom of page